Sydney Harbour Regatta 2015      Protest decisions up to 22/11/2017

Print This Page

No PROTESTOR PROTESTEE Race CLOSE PROTEST HEARING Arb'n PROTEST DETAIL FACTS AND CONCLUSIONS RULE OUTCOME
37 XS Moment [11744] Request for Redress   16:52 on
08/03/2015
    FACTS
1.XS Moment lodged a scoring review request with the Race Committee in good time. On finding that the Race Committee had made no changes, XS Moment delivered a Request for Redress within a reasonable time thereafter. The Protest Committee decided that the Request for Redress was valid and proceeded to hear the request.
2.XS Moment claimed that her finishing time in Race 3 was published in results incorrectly in that she claims she finished 4 seconds ahead of Toybox 2 rather than the 12 seconds behind Toybox 2 as published in results, a difference of 16 seconds.
3.Had XS Moments corrected time been calculated based on a time 16 seconds faster than, her published time, her finishing position would not have changed.

CONCLUSIONS
XS Moments score in Race 3 was not made significantly worse as required by rule 62.1. XS Moment is not entitled to redress.
62.1, 62.2, 63.5 Redress is not given
36 Gogo [MH53] Rock Solid [MH101] 6 15:12 15:30 on
08/03/2015
Y Port and Starboard FACTS
Rock Solid accepted an Arbitration Penalty

CONCLUSIONS
10 Rock Solid is to be awarded an Arbitration Penalty based on 25% in accordance with NOR 1.5.2
35 Bullet [9006] 2Excess [8336] 2 18:04 19:00 on
07/03/2015
    FACTS
The protest is lodged out of time.

CONCLUSIONS
The protest is invalid.
61.3, 63.5 The hearing is closed.
34 Gogo [MH53] Powderhulk [MH192] 3   17:30 on
08/03/2015
  Mark room incident FACTS
1. Notice of the time and place of the hearing was posted on the official notice board. Contentious and Limine Luna did not attend the hearing.
2. There was an incident at the bottom mark but there was doubt that the hail of 'protest' and the displaying of a red flag was made at the first reasonable opportunity.

CONCLUSIONS
The protest is invalid.
61.1(a), 63.3, 63.5 The hearing is closed.
33 Gogo [MH53] Limine Lunae [308] 3   17:30 on
08/03/2015
  Mark room incident FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  See Protest 34
32 Gogo [MH53] Contentious [MH 171] 3   17:30 on
08/03/2015
  Mark room incident FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  See Protest 34
31 Jackpot [6774] Race Committee 1 17:49 1900 on
07/03/2015
  Course shortened incorrectly FACTS
1. The race committee shortened the course but not in accordance with the rules.
2. The race should have finished at the leeward gate but no finishers were recorded at the gate marks.

CONCLUSIONS
The race committee made an error and the finishing position of the boats were not correctly recorded in Division 2.
32.2, 62.1(a), Redress is given.
Premier Division 2 Race 1 is abandoned.
30 OCL 1 [8009] Just a Dash [7722] 1   17:00 on
08/03/2015
  Windward boat failed to keep clear at starting line FACTS
1. Notice of the time and place of the hearing was posted on the MHYC Official Notice Board...
2. Parties were contacted personally and notified that the hearing was to be rescheduled from the original time on 7 Mar 15.
3. Neither party attended the hearing.

CONCLUSIONS
63.2, 63.3(b) The protest is dismissed.
29 Alcamy [7422] Vitamin Sea [3164] 1 17:52 18:30 on
07/03/2015
  Windward boat failed to keep clear near Start Boat FACTS
1. Notice of the time and place of the hearing was posted on the MHYC Official Notice Board in accordance with the SI.
2. Vitamin Sea did not attend the hearing.
3. Alcamy was close hauled on starboard tack approaching the starting line to startand aiming at tyhe stern of the committee vessel.
4. Vitamin sea approaching from the windward side of the committee vessel barged between the committee vessel and Alcamy.
5. Alcamy bore away to avoid a collision.

CONCLUSIONS
Vitamin Sea was not entitled to room and failed to keep clear.
11, 63.2 and 63.3(b) Vitamin Sea is disqualified in Race 1
28 Esprit [MYC 32] Ophir 3   on
07/03/2015
    FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  The jury allowed the protest to be withdrawn
27 Jury Zip [7007] 1   17:00 on
08/03/2015
    FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  See Protest 15
26 Jury Emma Peel [23] 1   17:00 on
08/03/2015
    FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  See Protest 15
25 Jury 2Excess [8366] 1   17:00 on
08/03/2015
    FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  See Protest 15
24 Jury Hello Tiger [AUS 91] 1   17:00 on
08/03/2015
    FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  See Protest 15
23 Jury Mojo [4926] 1   17:00 on
08/03/2015
    FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  See Protest 15
22 Jury Very Tasty [6045] 1   17:00 on
08/03/2015
    FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  See Protest 15
21 Jury Balmain Tiger [AUS 66] 1   17:00 on
08/03/2015
    FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  See Protest 15
20 Jury Matagi [BSC35] 1   17:00 on
08/03/2015
    FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  See Protest 15
19 Jury Likalizard [9959] 1   17:00 on
08/03/2015
    FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  See Protest 15
18 Jury Flying Brandy [AUS 79] 1   17:00 on
08/03/2015
    FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  See Protest 15
17 Jury Easy Tiger [AUS 221] 1   17:00 on
08/03/2015
    FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  See Protest 15
16 Jury Bullet [9006] 1   17:00 on
08/03/2015
    FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
  See Protest 15
15 Jury Ophir [AUS 56] 1   17:00 on
08/03/2015
    FACTS
1. For Race 1 there were two orange inflatable marks at 040 degrees to windward of the start approximately 300m apart.
2. The race committee laid the mark further to windward as the windward mark for the course.
3. The closer mark was laid earlier by RSYS and was not a mark of the course.
4. SI 4.1 identified the windward mark as 'orange inflatable (top)'.
5. Four boats, Knockabout, Esprit, Clewless, and Hotspur 2 rounded the correct mark.
6. The remaining 13 boats rounded the RSYS orange inflatable mark.

CONCLUSIONS
A. All the boats that rounded the RSYS mark did not sail the course.
B. The race committee made an improper action in that there were two orange inflatable marks on the course at a bearing of 040 degrees to windward of the start line.
28, 62.1, 64.2, SI4.1, Updated:-
Further to the Protest Committee Decision in the Super 30 Division in Race 1
The Protest Committee has considered the issue of scoring the series as a result of the decision in this matter.
Obviously it would be unfair to stick with the original adjusted handicaps from Race 1.
The PC direct the Race Committee that due to the issues with Race one and the problems with adjusting the handicaps that you dont recalculate for race one. Carry forward the race 1 handicaps to race 2 and then recalculate from there.
Authorised for the Protest Committee

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Redress is granted.

The following boats that completed the intended course are to be scored in order 1 to 4: Knockabout (1), Esprit (2), Clewless (3), and Hotspur 2 (4).

The remaining boats are to be scored in places 5 to 17 in their original order as follows: Easy Tiger(1), Flying Brandy(6), Likalizard(7), Matagi(8), Balmain Tiger(9), Very Tasty(10), Mojo(11), Hello Tiger(12), 2Excess(13), Emma Peel(14), Zip(15), Bullet(16), Ophir(17)
14 Clewless/Esprit [4377/32] Zip [7007] 1   18:10 on
07/03/2015
  Failed to round correct mark FACTS
Hearing Adjourned. Hearing to be continued in conjunction with Protests 2 to 28 at 17:00pm Sunday 8 Mar 15

CONCLUSIONS
   
13 Clewless/Esprit [4377/32] Emma Peel [23] 1   18:10 on
07/03/2015
  Failed to round correct mark FACTS
Hearing Adjourned. Hearing to be continued in conjunction with Protests 2 to 28 at 17:00pm Sunday 8 Mar 15

CONCLUSIONS
   
12 Clewless/Esprit [4377/32] 2Excess [8366] 1   18:10 on
07/03/2015
  Failed to round correct mark FACTS
Hearing Adjourned. Hearing to be continued in conjunction with Protests 2 to 28 at 17:00pm Sunday 8 Mar 15

CONCLUSIONS
   
11 Clewless/Esprit [4377/32] Hello Tiger [AUS 91] 1   18:10 on
07/03/2015
  Failed to round correct mark FACTS
Hearing Adjourned. Hearing to be continued in conjunction with Protests 2 to 28 at 17:00pm Sunday 8 Mar 15

CONCLUSIONS
   
10 Clewless/Esprit [4377/32] Mojo [4926] 1   18:10 on
07/03/2015
  Failed to round correct mark FACTS
Hearing Adjourned. Hearing to be continued in conjunction with Protests 2 to 28 at 17:00pm Sunday 8 Mar 15

CONCLUSIONS
   
9 Clewless/Esprit [4377/32] Very Tasty [6045] 1   18:10 on
07/03/2015
  Failed to round correct mark FACTS
Hearing Adjourned. Hearing to be continued in conjunction with Protests 2 to 28 at 17:00pm Sunday 8 Mar 15

CONCLUSIONS
   
8 Clewless/Esprit [4377/32] Balmain Tiger [AUS 66] 1   18:10 on
07/03/2015
  Failed to round correct mark FACTS
Hearing Adjourned. Hearing to be continued in conjunction with Protests 2 to 28 at 17:00pm Sunday 8 Mar 15

CONCLUSIONS
   
7 Clewless/Esprit [4377/32] Matagi [BSC35] 1   18:10 on
07/03/2015
  Failed to round correct mark FACTS
Hearing Adjourned. Hearing to be continued in conjunction with Protests 2 to 28 at 17:00pm Sunday 8 Mar 15

CONCLUSIONS
   
6 Clewless/Esprit [4377/32] Likalizard [9959] 1   18:10 on
07/03/2015
  Failed to round correct mark FACTS
Hearing Adjourned. Hearing to be continued in conjunction with Protests 2 to 28 at 17:00pm Sunday 8 Mar 15

CONCLUSIONS
   
5 Clewless/Esprit [4377/32] Flying Brandy [AUS 79] 1   18:10 on
07/03/2015
  Failed to round correct mark FACTS
Hearing Adjourned. Hearing to be continued in conjunction with Protests 2 to 28 at 17:00pm Sunday 8 Mar 15

CONCLUSIONS
   
4 Clewless/Esprit [4377/32] Easy Tiger [AUS 221] 1   18:10 on
07/03/2015
  Failed to round correct mark FACTS
Hearing Adjourned. Hearing to be continued in conjunction with Protests 2 to 28 at 17:00pm Sunday 8 Mar 15

CONCLUSIONS
   
3 Clewless/Esprit [4377/32] Bullet [9006] 1   18:10 on
07/03/2015
  Failed to round correct mark FACTS
Hearing Adjourned. Hearing to be continued in conjunction with Protests 2 to 28 at 17:00pm Sunday 8 Mar 15

CONCLUSIONS
   
2 Clewless/Esprit [4377/32] Ophir [AUS 56] 1   18:10 on
07/03/2015
  Failed to round correct mark FACTS
Hearing Adjourned. Hearing to be continued in conjunction with Protests 2 to 28 at 17:00pm Sunday 8 Mar 15

CONCLUSIONS
   
1 L'Altra Donna [6935] Wailea [16129] 2 17:47 18:00 on
07/03/2015
  Boat gaining right of way from clear astern did not initially give room to keep clear. Did not attempt to avoid contact. FACTS
1. Wailea was over at the starting signal and gybed around the pin end to start correctly.
2. L'altra Donna was over at the starting signal and gybed back to the correct side of the starting line.
3. Wailea established an overlap to leeward of L'altra Donna.
4. A collision occurred between the bow of Wailea and the starboard aft quarter of L'altra Donna 2 m from her stern.
5. Wailea bore away to avoid the collision. L'altra Donna took no action to avoid contact.
6. Wailea carried out a penalty turn.
7. L'altra Donna retired from the race.

CONCLUSIONS
A. L'altra Donna as windward boat failed to keep clear of Wailea a leeward boat.
B. L'altra Donna failed to avoid contact with Wailea when it was reasonably possible to do so
11, 14, 61.1(a)(4), 64.1 No penalty can be applied as L'altra Donna retired from the race.